My Mother’s Prison

This morning my mom told me how the life of this world exhausts her. It reminded me of the hadith “The world is a prison for a believer and Paradise for a non-believer.” (Muslim). It really is her prison. When it comes to us, her kids she celebrates our successes, but always reminds us that only our good deeds will come with us to our graves and past this life. She lives in this world, raised us and worked miracles as we grew up, but she simply is not a person seeking this world. Like a palm tree that produces beautiful fruits, but has almost no roots in the soil. She is simply one of the most inspiring people that I know mashaAllah, not just because she is my mother, but because she is also a believer and I forget that this world is her prison. This life has been mostly hardship for her. Allah subhana wata alaa blessed her with people she loves, but who also often make her life difficult, but it never interferes with her love for Allah. On the contrary it is love that stems from her love for Allah. Nothing pleases my mother more than us turning to Islam and taking it on and nothing troubles her more than us turning away from Islam and preferring our way of life over the way she taught us, Islam.

I have heard her speak most proudly and endearingly about her father who at his old age still walks to every prayer at the Masjid even though his legs grow tired and sore from it. She’s excited for her trip this fall inshaAllah where she plans to see her father in Vietnam and the opening of their new masjid at that time, around Eid al Adha, the Festival of Sacrifice. I pray that Allah accepts her life as sacrifice for His sake and her Eid will be the Day of Standing before Him where He will be pleased with her and she will be pleased. Ameen. I realize it was probably her father who taught her devotion to Allah. Its difficult on my heart knowing how difficult life has been for my parents, but my mom constantly reminds me that she is not a person that lives for this life, she is simply working to please God, hoping her record speaks in her favor and not against her. She is the woman that gave birth to me twice, she gave me life in this world and gave me life in Islam. She is my blessed example of a Believing Woman. May Allah preserve her, increase her, ease her, have mercy on her, bestow blessings upon her, grant her a beautiful seal, guide her family and her, love her, forgive her and grant her Jannatul Firdaus with the Beloved Messenger salallahu alayhi wasalam. May He do the same for my whole family, especially my maternal grandfather. Ameen. She is the woman I love most in this life, the woman who taught me to love God, Islam and the Prophet. I could never pay you back for even one contraction of child labor or for even a morsel of food you gave me, but I pray to God, Al Kareem, the Most Generous to give you much more than you could ever imagine. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

