To Love Intensely

“We are all crazy in our love, every single one of us and its because we learned from the craziest lover of them all: Mom.”

I sat in the car with my sister talking about love and in the way my siblings love people. My family comes off crazily loving sometimes. We all developed different aspects of our parent’s love. I realized I’m my mom in many ways; stubbornly loyal to people she loves regardless if they wrong her. I’ve observed my whole life how people would hurt her and yet she never gave up, even to the disapproval of her children. She was usually right too, people come around. The door of forgiveness is open, love is waiting for you to walk through. I love like her because its the love that I know.

9 siblings, 2 parents is a big household. People will make mistakes, hurt each other and life’s trials will come. Life is a battle sometimes and our family is composed of veterans of war, who love each other deeply because we’ve enjoyed the good times, but more importantly endured the most difficult times. What our parents armed us with is an undying and persistent forgiveness of people. We were forced to grow into gratitude because life is impossible without it. Sometimes I look at other people and I see things they are blessed to be raised with, but then I remember that I too was blessed with things that are unique to my upbringing.

O mankind, indeed We have created you from male and female and made you peoples and tribes that you may know one another. Indeed, the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous of you. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.” (49:13) “That you may know one another.” Such a powerful reality. Each peoples, nations, tribes and even families equipped with their own strengths and weaknesses. Imagine all the beautiful things we could teach each other. Perhaps this is part of the wisdom that God made good deeds so varied, from visiting and caring of the sick, to building places of worship, praying for the oppressed in the night, smiling, feeding the poor, etc, because the people who will go out and be the most righteous will also vary in their strengths and their way of contributing to the human fabric. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.

Leave a Reply

