The Weight of a Name

I say that a name is linked to an intention. It reveals the hopes and dreams of parents for their children. We often name children after those that we already love, perhaps hoping that they too will carry a trait of that person that was the fuel to that love. Sometimes we name them after good meanings hoping they will grow into those meanings.

I was named, Asnavy. In my native tongue, it means the light of the sun. Although almost no native names exist anymore in my culture, my name remains used. All my brothers are named after Prophets for example.  My mother says that naming your son that will mean that he will be knowledgeable and intelligent. Its considered a good name.

Today I learned that my dad says he actually chose it, even though my uncle, my mom’s brother is also named that. She loved the name also. My dad said he chose my name because of the attribute it carries with someone being intelligent and that he knew someone growing up that he looked up to. The man was knowledgeable in Islam and went to Malaysia and won this large Quran recitation competition.

After learning this, reading the Quran and learning Islamic knowledge has become different for me. I truly was the prayer of my parents in more ways than one and I hope I can fulfill that intention of theirs.

اللهم إني أسألك علماً نافعاً، ورزقاً طيباً، وعملاً متقبلاً

‘Allaahumma innee assaluka ilman nafia, wa rizzqan tayyeebun, wa amalan mutaqabilan,.’

‘O Allaah indeed I ask You for beneficial knowledge, and a good provision, and actions which are accepted.’
(Prophetic Dua)
Ameen.

 

Leave a Reply

