Auspicious Winters

Winter is when the storm of my spirit rages inside. My spirit comes alive in these long nights. Winter four years, I went through my hardest difficulties and honestly became a new person on a completely trajectory.

Winter one year ago, I was sitting at a childhood friend’s wedding and a love song came on. I Love You So by Maher Zain. I started to reflect on how the song was actually a love song about God. Then suddenly my heart was speaking with God, Allah.

Whatever You think is best, I am happy about, alhamdulillah, all praise and thanks is due to God. You are the best of planners. I’ll keep doing the work, but even if your plan includes things I wouldn’t prefer for myself, You are sufficient for me. What more could I ask more than having You in my life? Nothing. I am the most blessed man on the Earth because I know You! Because I can feel your presence with me, and Your plan is greater than any plans I can make.

Its been a year now, and I feel invigorated and I feel like a much better man than I was before, alhamdulillah, all praise and thanks is due to God.  These winters have a secret in them, I pray that I will transform even further this winter.  One of my favorite things I’ve learned that sums up the sentiment of that conversation I had is with a Prophetic saying that we are recommended to repeat every morning seven times:

Hasbi-allahu la ilaha illa Huwa ‘alaihi tawakkaltu wa Huwa Rab-bal ‘arshil ‘atheem

حَسْبِ اللهُ لا إله إلا هو، عليه توكلت
و هو ربَ العرش العظيم.

Allah is sufficient for me. There is no God but He.
I have placed my trust in Him, He is Lord of the Majestic Throne.

Leave a Reply

