We Are Satisfied with Our Lot and Share

Bismillahir Rahmanir Rahim

In the Name of God, the Most Merciful the Most Gracious

Ibn Hashim and Bukhari narrate a story in which the Ansar are angry with the Prophet (sallallahu alayhi wasalam). During the disbursement of Booty at Al-Ji’ranah, the largest shares were given to people who recently embraced Islam, including the nobles of Quraysh. The Ansar however were given nothing. Sa’d bin ‘Ubadah speaks for his people and says:

“O Messenger of Allâh, this group of the Ansar are furious at you about the distribution of the booty that you had won. You have allotted shares to your own kinsmen and forwarded lots of gifts to the Arab tribes. But this group has obtained nothing.” The Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) asked Sa‘d exclaiming: “Sa‘d, what do you think of all that?” Sa‘d replied: “O Messenger of Allâh. You know that I am nothing but a member of this group.” “Call out on your people and bring them forth to me into this shed.” Said the Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace).

Once gathered the Prophet sallallahu alayhi wasalam said “I have been told that you are angry with me. Didn’t I come to you when you were astray and Allâh guided you? You were poor and Allâh gave you wealth. Weren’t you foes and Allâh made you love one another.” “Yes,” they said, “Allâh and His Messenger are better and more gracious.” Then he said: “What prevents you from replying to the Messenger of Allâh, O tribe of Ansar?” They said, “What should be the reply, O Messenger of Allâh, while to the Lord and to his Messenger belong all benevolence and grace.”

The Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) again said:

“But by Allâh, you might have answered and answered truly, for I would have testified to its truth myself: ‘You came to us belied and rejected and we accepted you; you came to us as helpless and we helped you; a fugitive, and we took you in; poor and we comforted you’.

You Ansar, do you feel anxious for the things of this world, wherewith I have sought to incline these people unto the Faith in which you are already established?

Are you not satisfied, O group of Ansar that the people go with ewes and camels while you go along with the Messenger of Allâh  to your dwellings. By Him in Whose Hand is my life, had there been no migration, I would have been one of the Ansar. If the people would go through a valley and passage, and the Ansar go through another valley and passage, I would go through the valley and passage of the Ansar. Allâh! Have mercy on the Ansar, their children and their children’s children.”

The audience wept until tears rolled down their beards as they said:

“Yes, we are satisfied, O Prophet of Allah with our lot and share.”

In this life many of us get jealous of the people around us. They are given so much of this world, but aren’t we like the Ansar in this world? Your bosses and executives go home with their big houses, expensive cars and what do you go home with? Allah gave you Islam and the Prophet (salallahu alayhi wasalam).  Allah gave you the greatest blessing any person could receive, guidance. Are we not satisfied with our share?

I was told about two different families from my friend about his stay in Utah. One was a young man who was named Ahmed. My friend asked Ahmed to come to Masjid with  him. Ahmed said he couldn’t and explained that his family had been Mormon now for 8 years.  He explained that the Mormons bought them a house and took care of their needs so that they would convert to Mormonism.  May Allah protect us from the fear of poverty and losing our faith. Ameen.

He met another family who was impoverished to where they could barely cloth their children. The patriarch was 75 and strong, and named Ibrahim. Ibrahim told him about how the Mormon churched offered to buy them a house, their food, clothing and even pay for their college tuition, but he responded to them by saying La illaha ilallah. There is no God, but Allah.

They are living in poverty, but that man understands the value of the share in life that Allah subhana wata alaa gave him. When you wake up for fajr and pray the two rakat of Sunnah, realize that its worth more than the world and everything in it, meaning you already have something more valuable than the bank account of Bill Gates.

Even if you can’t step out of yourself and realize what a blessing it is to have the Prophet (salallallahu alayhi wasalam), who responds to our salawat on him, realize no matter where your love for him is now, 1400 years ago, he loved you and was concerned for you.
In the Musnad of Imam Ahmad, Anas bin Malik (radiAllahu anhu) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said:

” I wish that I could meet my brothers.” The Sahaabah asked: “Aren’t we your brothers?” He replied: “You are my Companions, but my brothers are those who will believe in me without having seen me.”

Does it not please you to know that the Prophet (salallahu alayhi wasalam) mentioned you to his beloved Sahaba, and yearned to see you before you were even an idea in the minds of your great great grandparents. 1400 years ago, before Islam even spread to the part of the world that we came from and before our ancestors even heard about a man named Muhammad, he thought about you and yearned to meet you.

Who am I? This lowly slave who constantly sins, who learns about the Beloveds way, but struggles to follow it. This slave who has very little light, and very little character and has achieved very little in this life and has done so little for the next. And the Best of Creation wish that he could meet me? He has more love for me than I could even have for me. A blessed man, who stayed up at night praying to His Lord out of thankfulness and I struggle to even think about the words I say when I pray. SubhanAllah. As if it wasn’t enough for Allah to create me and cause me to exist, but for Him, subhana wata alaa to then further bless me by knowing His name, Allah and knowing the name of His beloved, the Prophet Muhammad (sallallahu alayhi wasalam).

I’m reminded by this other narration from our beloved mother, A’ishah (radi Allahu anha) who narrated

“Once, when I saw the Prophet in a good mood, I said to him: “O Messenger of Allāh! Supplicate to Allāh for me!” So, he said: “O Allāh! Forgive ‘A’ishah her past and future sins, what she has hidden, as well as what she has made apparent.” So, I began smiling, to the point that my head fell into the lap of the Messenger of Allāh sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam out of joy. The Messenger of Allāh said to me: “Does my supplication make you happy?” I replied: “And how can your supplication not make me happy?” He then said: “By Allāh, it is the supplication that I make for my Ummah in every prayer.”  (Al Bazzaar)

If our love is deficient for the Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alayhi wasalam, it is probably for two reasons. The first being we don’t know him enough. We don’t know enough about his life, his character and about how much he gave for every single one of us. And the second being that no matter how much you can increase in your love, you will find that it will always be deficient because of who were are and how deserving of our love he is. Salallahu alayhi wa salam. For example a son or daughter will never love his or her mother sufficiently, so how could one love someone who has done even more for you than your mother?

I end with this poem that sums it up best, translated by Shaykh Hamza Yusuf and it was written by Ibn Juzayy al Kalbi:

I desired to praise the Chosen One and was hindered

By my own inability to grasp the extent of his glory.

How can one such as I measure an ocean, when the ocean is vast?

And how can one such as I count the stones and the stars?

If all of my limbs were to become tongues, even then –

Even then I could not begin to praise him as I desired.

And if all of creation gathered together in an attempt

To praise him, even then they would stint in his due.

I have altogether ceased trying – awestruck, clinging to courtesy,

Tempered by timidity, glorifying his most exalted rank.

Indeed, sometimes silence holds within it the essence of eloquence,

And often speech merely fodder for the faultfinder.

Leave a Reply

